Home Dashboard Directory Help
Search

VS 2008 crashes during report preview (print layout, 200%) by JoeSchmoe115


Status: 

Closed
 as Not Reproducible Help for as Not Reproducible


9
0
Sign in
to vote
Type: Bug
ID: 545440
Opened: 3/29/2010 11:20:42 AM
Access Restriction: Public
2
Workaround(s)
view
7
User(s) can reproduce this bug

Description

VS 2008 crashes during report preview (print layout, 200%).

Crash details:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name:    CLR20r3
Problem Signature 01:    devenv.exe
Problem Signature 02:    9.0.30729.1
Problem Signature 03:    488f2b50
Problem Signature 04:    System.Drawing
Problem Signature 05:    2.0.0.0
Problem Signature 06:    49cc5f38
Problem Signature 07:    24b
Problem Signature 08:    121
Problem Signature 09:    System.ComponentModel.Win32
OS Version:    6.0.6002.2.2.0.256.1
Locale ID:    1033

Additional information about the problem:
LCID:    1033

Debugger information:

System.Transactions Critical: 0 : <TraceRecord xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/2004/10/E2ETraceEvent/TraceRecord" Severity="Critical"><TraceIdentifier>http://msdn.microsoft.com/TraceCodes/System/ActivityTracing/2004/07/Reliability/Exception/Unhandled</TraceIdentifier><Description>Unhandled exception</Description><AppDomain>DefaultDomain</AppDomain><Exception><ExceptionType>System.ComponentModel.Win32Exception, System, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089</ExceptionType><Message>Not enough storage is available to process this command</Message><StackTrace> at System.Drawing.BufferedGraphicsContext.CreateCompatibleDIB(IntPtr hdc, IntPtr hpal, Int32 ulWidth, Int32 ulHeight, IntPtr& ppvBits)
at System.Drawing.BufferedGraphicsContext.CreateBuffer(IntPtr src, Int32 offsetX, Int32 offsetY, Int32 width, Int32 height)
at System.Drawing.BufferedGraphicsContext.AllocBuffer(Graphics targetGraphics, IntPtr targetDC, Rectangle targetRectangle)
at System.Drawing.BufferedGraphicsContext.AllocBufferInTempManager(Graphics targetGraphics, IntPtr targetDC, Rectangle targetRectangle)
at System.Drawing.BufferedGraphicsContext.Allocate(IntPtr targetDC, Rectangle targetRectangle)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmPaint(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.DebuggableCallback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)</StackTrace><ExceptionString>System.ComponentModel.Win32Exception: Not enough storage is available to process this command
at System.Drawing.BufferedGraphicsContext.CreateCompatibleDIB(IntPtr hdc, IntPtr hpal, Int32 ulWidth, Int32 ulHeight, IntPtr& ppvBits)
at System.Drawing.BufferedGraphicsContext.CreateBuffer(IntPtr src, Int32 offsetX, Int32 offsetY, Int32 width, Int32 height)
at System.Drawing.BufferedGraphicsContext.AllocBuffer(Graphics targetGraphics, IntPtr targetDC, Rectangle targetRectangle)
at System.Drawing.BufferedGraphicsContext.AllocBufferInTempManager(Graphics targetGraphics, IntPtr targetDC, Rectangle targetRectangle)
at System.Drawing.BufferedGraphicsContext.Allocate(IntPtr targetDC, Rectangle targetRectangle)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmPaint(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.DebuggableCallback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)</ExceptionString><NativeErrorCode>8</NativeErrorCode></Exception></TraceRecord>
Unhandled exception at 0x77c4fbae in devenv.exe: 0xE0434F4D: 0xe0434f4d.
Details
Sign in to post a comment.
Posted by Atariman5000 on 4/7/2014 at 10:04 AM
Ok, I was having this same issue. My issue was due to TFS placing the "Read Only" attribute on my files. I simply right clicked on the top level folder and removed the attribute, and I could preview the reports.
Posted by SSRS_DEV on 9/6/2011 at 8:30 AM
Well looks like this is still a problem. Now I am running SQL 2008 SP2 CU1 and this still happens... Oh yeah there has not been an update to Visual Studio 2008 SP1..

Version=1
EventType=CLR20r3
EventTime=129597960832039552
ReportType=1
Consent=1
UploadTime=129597960835783720
ReportIdentifier=e0a7a132-d89b-11e0-96f5-001f297d0a76
Response.BucketId=1742138236
Response.BucketTable=5
Response.type=4
Sig[0].Name=Problem Signature 01
Sig[0].Value=devenv.exe
Sig[1].Name=Problem Signature 02
Sig[1].Value=9.0.30729.1
Sig[2].Name=Problem Signature 03
Sig[2].Value=488f2b50
Sig[3].Name=Problem Signature 04
Sig[3].Value=System.Drawing
Sig[4].Name=Problem Signature 05
Sig[4].Value=2.0.0.0
Sig[5].Name=Problem Signature 06
Sig[5].Value=4ca2bad4
Sig[6].Name=Problem Signature 07
Sig[6].Value=24b
Sig[7].Name=Problem Signature 08
Sig[7].Value=121
Sig[8].Name=Problem Signature 09
Sig[8].Value=System.ComponentModel.Win32
DynamicSig[1].Name=OS Version
DynamicSig[1].Value=6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.4
DynamicSig[2].Name=Locale ID
DynamicSig[2].Value=1033
UI[2]=C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\Common7\IDE\devenv.exe
UI[3]=Microsoft Visual Studio has encountered a problem and needs to close.
UI[4]=If you had files open that contained unsaved changes, these changes might be lost.
UI[5]=Check online for a solution and restart the program
UI[6]=Check online for a solution later and close the program
UI[7]=Close the program
Sec[0].Key=LCID
Sec[0].Value=1033
State[0].Key=Transport.DoneStage1
State[0].Value=1
FriendlyEventName=Stopped working
ConsentKey=CLR20r3
AppName=Microsoft Visual Studio
AppPath=C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\Common7\IDE\devenv.exe
Posted by Rob Schripsema on 8/11/2011 at 3:56 PM
I am also still encountering this error. Have been unable to locate the fix. I removed the one image from the report, with no change in results.

Help?
Posted by SSRS_DEV on 6/17/2010 at 11:07 AM
HELP, this has not been fixed and still causing an error. I am running Windows 7 on 2 machines running BIDS 2008 R1 on one and R2 on the other and this still crashes with the same error.

Can someone review? I can send various crash reports to this, You can also review my posts on the boards here:

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/sqlkjreportingservices/thread/0af7e577-667c-48c9-943d-559761acb809

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/sqlreportingservices/thread/36ec4c49-a2f2-45d9-9364-4721796ff513
Posted by SSRS_DEV on 4/26/2010 at 12:44 PM
Thanks Microsoft team, as soon as I performed the work around I just noted to the ticket, the report now runs correctly from inside VS 2008 and the problem seemed to have gone away.

The original report was a RS 2005 report that was re-saved to a RS 2008 report so maybe there was something going on with the RDL language that needed to be updated?? Not sure, but anyway my report is now working...

Thanks!!
Posted by Microsoft on 4/26/2010 at 11:50 AM
Hi Art,

I cannot reproduce this issue and no other customer have reported this specific problem happening. Is there any other information you can provide about the content of the report?

In the Preview and Print Preview, the report viewer is using GDI+ to draw the image. Based on the callstack crashing at System.Drawing, it looks like GDI+ may be a problem. Make sure you have the latest updates installed for GDI+. The interaction of the content of the report with GDI+ may also be something to investigate. If you have many images in the report, each image is a distinct GDI object and could potentially cause a problem.
Posted by SSRS_DEV on 4/26/2010 at 11:04 AM
This is now happening frequently and driving me NVTS....

OS: Windows 7 Enterprise
SQL 2008 SP1 Update 8



Fault bucket 652506783, type 5
Event Name: CLR20r3
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: devenv.exe
P2: 9.0.30729.1
P3: 488f2b50
P4: System.Drawing
P5: 2.0.0.0
P6: 4a275e83
P7: 24b
P8: 121
P9: System.ComponentModel.Win32
P10:

Attached files:

These files may be available here:
C:\Users\adegaetano\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive\Critical_devenv.exe_d018e18fbf1ea5fad4c0874950dea3e09d9ca022_1cc4037e

Analysis symbol:
Rechecking for solution: 0
Report Id: b03da945-515d-11df-ab26-801c00004c90
Report Status: 0

System

- Provider

[ Name] Windows Error Reporting

- EventID 1001

[ Qualifiers] 0

Level 4

Task 0

Keywords 0x80000000000000

- TimeCreated

[ SystemTime] 2010-04-26T18:01:14.000000000Z

EventRecordID 8116

Channel Application

Computer PARSIPLAP16BQ_7.corp.york-claims.com

Security


- EventData

652506783
5
CLR20r3
Not available
0
devenv.exe
9.0.30729.1
488f2b50
System.Drawing
2.0.0.0
4a275e83
24b
121
System.ComponentModel.Win32
    
    
C:\Users\adegaetano\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive\Critical_devenv.exe_d018e18fbf1ea5fad4c0874950dea3e09d9ca022_1cc4037e
    
0
b03da945-515d-11df-ab26-801c00004c90
0
Posted by SSRS_DEV on 4/16/2010 at 1:40 PM
I am getting this error (along with other report developers at my company) when we try to render a report in Visual Studio 2008 using BIDS.

The visual studio version we are using is
VS 2008 : Version 9.0.30729.1 SP1

Microsoft SQL Server Reporting Services Designers
Version 10.0.2766.0

We also have installed SQL 2008 SP1 Update 7 as well.

Is there a HotFix and or Patch out there that addresses this issue?

Please Advise...

Thanks

Art
Sign in to post a workaround.
Posted by SSRS_DEV on 2/15/2012 at 8:19 AM
This is crazy but I saw this in another post. So I decided to try...

Before un/reinstalling SilverLight 3 tools for VS 2008, I ran my report and it crashed with the error message above..

Then I installed the update to SL 3 tools, opened VS loaded report and ran it... Low and behold, BINGO, the report ran...

So looks like SL 3 tools is the issue...

http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=9394

Posted by SSRS_DEV on 4/26/2010 at 12:42 PM
I think I might have a work around based on the note from Microsoft.

I checked my .NET configuration and GDI+ settings and they were all up to date. So since the Microsoft team member said this:

"If you have many images in the report, each image is a distinct GDI object and could potentially cause a problem"

I only have 1 image on my report. Its a company logo where the settings come from a database. So I just removed the image container, saved the report and ran it. Bingo the report worked with no crash.

So I added a new image container with the same settings were when I ran the report I receive the crash above, this time the report rendered with no problems..

So maybe there was an issue with that part of the report RDL that when adding a new image control fix what could have been miscoded.