Home Dashboard Directory Help
Search

Visual Studio 2013 Preview - Installation by Carlos dos Santos


Status: 

Closed


1
0
Sign in
to vote
Type: Bug
ID: 791829
Opened: 6/28/2013 6:34:54 PM
Access Restriction: Public
0
Workaround(s)
view
0
User(s) can reproduce this bug

Description

After install Visual Studio 2013 Preview, only Blend and Command Prompt icons were placed in Start Screen of Windows 8. Visual Studio IDE icon not.
Details
Sign in to post a comment.
Posted by Microsoft on 7/11/2013 at 12:53 PM
Hello Carlos dos Santos,

We have been trying to repro this experience without much luck. Going forward, the plan is to not have shortcut icons automatically pinned ot the start page, and users will select the ones they want displayed there.

I am going to resolve this as Not Repro. If you are unable to manually add VS to your start page, please feel free to comment.

-Matt Cavallari
VS Setup
Posted by Microsoft on 7/4/2013 at 1:50 AM
Thanks for your feedback.

We are rerouting this issue to the appropriate group within the Visual Studio Product Team for triage and resolution. These specialized experts will follow-up with your issue.
Posted by Carlos dos Santos on 7/3/2013 at 4:11 AM
File sent.
Posted by Microsoft on 7/3/2013 at 2:11 AM
Sorry for my mistake. Please upload the file to
https://sftus.one.microsoft.com/choosetransfer.aspx?key=69d83956-d38e-46f2-a4be-169f2978b6f6
Password is DnyN^o!#!{zr[
Posted by Microsoft on 7/3/2013 at 1:59 AM
Please zip the file and use "FeedbackID-791829" as prefix of the file name.


You can use the following workspace to upload the file:
https://sftus.one.microsoft.com/choosetransfer.aspx?key=5ec9b40d-a23d-4993-b38b-898cf2f200ce
Password is 7+vW$4Xo$x
Posted by Carlos dos Santos on 7/1/2013 at 12:41 PM
Log file has 86 MB. How can I send to you because file size is limited to 50mb ?
Posted by Microsoft on 6/30/2013 at 7:39 PM
Thanks for reporting the issue.
In order to fix the issue, we must first reproduce the issue in our labs. We are unable to reproduce the issue with the steps you provided.

It may help if you provide us with:
a setup log file

You can get the log files with the following steps:
1) Download collect.exe from the link below. http://go.microsoft.com/?LinkId=8967043
2) You may choose to save the tool for later use, or to run directly.
3) The utility creates a compressed cabinet of all the VS and .NET logs to %TEMP%\vslogs.cab.

You can get more details about how to get the log files here:
http://blogs.msdn.com/heaths/archive/2008/05/09/visual-studio-and-net-log-collection-utility.aspx

Thanks again for your efforts and we look forward to hearing from you.
Microsoft Visual Studio Connect Support Team
Posted by Microsoft on 6/28/2013 at 6:54 PM
Thank you for your feedback, we are currently reviewing the issue you have submitted. If this issue is urgent, please contact support directly(http://support.microsoft.com)
Sign in to post a workaround.