Home Dashboard Directory Help
Search

Unable to update my license for Visual Studio 2013 Preview by zeyansoft


Status: 

Closed
 as Fixed Help for as Fixed


29
0
Sign in
to vote
Type: Bug
ID: 792529
Opened: 7/4/2013 12:21:01 AM
Access Restriction: Public
1
Workaround(s)
view
18
User(s) can reproduce this bug

Description



When signed in with a Microsoft Account, trail license for VS 2013 Express for Desktop cannot be renewed in the "Product Info" dialog. The expiration date cannot be extended to 14 days again.

Note: I run VS under a standard user account with most strict UAC policy enabled. Hopefully it helps!

Update: Please refer to attached svc.txt for my current list of system services.

OSInfo:

Windows 8 Pro x64 Build 9200 (EN-US)

Locale: zh-cn

BIOS: UEFI mode

Hyper-V: Enabled (Both instances of Visual Studio Express were installed under Host OS)

HAL: 6.2.9200.16442

ntoskrnl.exe: 6.2.9200.16628

ntdll.dll: 6.2.9200.16579

kernel32.dll: 6.2.9200.16627

mscoree.dll: 4.0.41209.0

VSinfo:

Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2012 for Windows Desktop
Version 11.0.60610.01 Update 3
Microsoft .NET Framework
Version 4.5.50743

Installed Version: Desktop Express

Team Explorer for Visual Studio 2012 05695-004-0030004-02357
Microsoft Team Explorer for Visual Studio 2012

Visual Basic 2012 05695-004-0030004-02357
Microsoft Visual Basic 2012

Visual C# 2012 05695-004-0030004-02357
Microsoft Visual C# 2012

Visual C++ 2012 05695-004-0030004-02357
Microsoft Visual C++ 2012

NuGet Package Manager 2.6.40627.9000
NuGet Package Manager in Visual Studio. For more information about NuGet, visit http://docs.nuget.org/.

SQL Server Data Tools 11.1.20828.01
Microsoft SQL Server Data Tools


Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2013 Preview for Windows Desktop
Version 12.0.20617.1 PREVIEW
Microsoft .NET Framework
Version 4.5.50743

Installed Version: Desktop Express

Team Explorer for Visual Studio 2013 Preview 06069-004-0341006-02482
Microsoft Team Explorer for Visual Studio 2013 Preview

Visual Basic 2013 Preview 06069-004-0341006-02482
Microsoft Visual Basic 2013 Preview

Visual C# 2013 Preview 06069-004-0341006-02482
Microsoft Visual C# 2013 Preview

Visual C++ 2013 Preview 06069-004-0341006-02482
Microsoft Visual C++ 2013 Preview

NuGet Package Manager 2.6.40529.71
NuGet Package Manager in Visual Studio. For more information about NuGet, visit http://docs.nuget.org/.

SQL Server Data Tools 12.0.30529.0
Microsoft SQL Server Data Tools
Details
Sign in to post a comment.
Posted by zeyansoft on 6/8/2014 at 1:26 PM
It is nice to get issues resolved with you experts. Jumping to 14 right now.

Many thanks,

Zeyan
Posted by Microsoft on 4/29/2014 at 12:31 PM
Thank you for reporting this issue. This issue has been fixed in Visual Studio 2013. You can install a trial version of Visual Studio 2013 with the fix from: http://go.microsoft.com/?linkid=9832436
Posted by Microsoft on 7/25/2013 at 6:29 PM
This is online subscription license, so it's not possible to update it offline. However, once downloaded, it is good for some time and you can use it being offline, then you'll need to refresh it online. Depending on whether you have VS Ultimate or Express, it may be a month or till the end of Preview period.
In RTM we'll have both online licensing and VS 2012 offline licensing with product keys.
Posted by JohnyL on 7/18/2013 at 9:12 PM
@Ilya
Is it possible to update license offline?
Posted by JohnyL on 7/18/2013 at 9:09 PM
@Ilya
I do confirm that license has been extended successfully!
Thanks!
Posted by zeyansoft on 7/18/2013 at 6:52 AM
Thanks Ilya, such a big extension!

Posted by Franck Poulain on 7/17/2013 at 2:11 PM
Thanks, i can confirm that it is working now !
Posted by Microsoft on 7/17/2013 at 11:57 AM
Hi,

We have fixed this bug. You should be able to get Express licensed with any time zone.

Thanks,
Ilya
Posted by mhoffmann on 7/17/2013 at 7:40 AM
@JohnyL

It's really just a workaround, not a solution.
Timezone has only to be set to Pacific Time, when VS Express launches. The launched instance continues working if you reset time zone after launch.
So I use a batch file with tzutil before launching VS Express with
tzutil /s "Pacific Standard Time"
and - in my case -
tzutil /s "W. Europe Standard Time"
again afterwards
Posted by zeyansoft on 7/17/2013 at 5:35 AM
@mhoffmann

Thanks for sharing with us!

Zeyan Zhang
Posted by JohnyL on 7/17/2013 at 4:10 AM
@mhoffmann
The workaround works, but when I set back system time, the license is not extended (VS Express 2013 Preview).
Posted by m1u1n2kh2 on 7/17/2013 at 1:25 AM
@mhoffmann Thank you
Posted by mhoffmann on 7/17/2013 at 1:08 AM
Same problem here with VS Express 2013 for Windows on Windows 8.1 Preview.

But a MS employee emailed me a WORKAROUND this morning as response on my feedback ( posted directly from VS ) , see on the Workaround-Tab above !
Posted by zeyansoft on 7/16/2013 at 7:36 PM
Hi Ilya,

It looks like my VSE 2012 took ownership of some registry keys without de-referencing it. VSE 2013 Preview tried to grab them and gave it up, then VS 2013 Ultimate Preview installer insisting on owning those keys.

Now watching VSE 2012 and VS 2013 Ultimate Preview racing against each other on my system:)

Regards,

Zeyan Zhang
Posted by sfpgmr on 7/16/2013 at 1:15 PM
Hi Ilya.

Following your tips i tried.

edition:VS2013 Preview Express For Windows
language:japanese

call stack: ------------------------------
>    System.Web.Extensions.dll!System.Web.Script.Serialization.JavaScriptObjectDeserializer.DeserializePrimitiveObject()    不明
    System.Web.Extensions.dll!System.Web.Script.Serialization.JavaScriptObjectDeserializer.DeserializeInternal(int depth)    不明
    System.Web.Extensions.dll!System.Web.Script.Serialization.JavaScriptObjectDeserializer.BasicDeserialize(string input, int depthLimit, System.Web.Script.Serialization.JavaScriptSerializer serializer)    不明
    System.Web.Extensions.dll!System.Web.Script.Serialization.JavaScriptSerializer.Deserialize(System.Web.Script.Serialization.JavaScriptSerializer serializer, string input, System.Type type, int depthLimit)    不明
    System.Web.Extensions.dll!System.Web.Script.Serialization.JavaScriptSerializer.DeserializeObject(string input)    不明
    Microsoft.VisualStudio.Shell.Connected.dll!Microsoft.VisualStudio.OnlineLicensing.Token.UtilityMethods.DecodeFromJson(string s, bool noThrow)    不明
    Microsoft.VisualStudio.Shell.Connected.dll!Microsoft.VisualStudio.OnlineLicensing.Token.UtilityMethods.GetVsClientRightsTokenFromJson(string s, System.Guid expectedUserMachineId)    不明
    Microsoft.VisualStudio.Shell.Connected.dll!Microsoft.VisualStudio.Shell.Connected.OnlineLicensing.VsClientRightsTokenCacheManager.GetClientRightsToken(Microsoft.VisualStudio.LicenseManagement.Interop.VSLicenseSource crtokenKind)    不明
    Microsoft.VisualStudio.Shell.Connected.dll!Microsoft.VisualStudio.Shell.Connected.OnlineLicensing.VsClientRightsTokenCacheManager.GetCachedClientRightsToken(Microsoft.VisualStudio.LicenseManagement.Interop.VSLicenseSource desiredLicenseSource)    不明
    Microsoft.VisualStudio.ProductKeyDialog.dll!Microsoft.VisualStudio.ProductLicensing.VsLicensingState.GetUserClientRightTokens(out Microsoft.VisualStudio.ProductLicensing.Token.VsClientRightsToken ideUserCrToken, out Microsoft.VisualStudio.ProductLicensing.Token.VsClientRightsToken altLicensingUserCrToken)    不明
    Microsoft.VisualStudio.ProductKeyDialog.dll!Microsoft.VisualStudio.ProductLicensing.VsLicensingState.CalculateBestClientRightsAsync()    不明
    mscorlib.dll!System.Runtime.CompilerServices.AsyncMethodBuilderCore.MoveNextRunner.InvokeMoveNext(object stateMachine)    不明
    mscorlib.dll!System.Threading.ExecutionContext.RunInternal(System.Threading.ExecutionContext executionContext, System.Threading.ContextCallback callback, object state, bool preserveSyncCtx)    不明
    mscorlib.dll!System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(System.Threading.ExecutionContext executionContext, System.Threading.ContextCallback callback, object state, bool preserveSyncCtx)    不明
    mscorlib.dll!System.Runtime.CompilerServices.AsyncMethodBuilderCore.MoveNextRunner.Run()    不明
    mscorlib.dll!System.Threading.Tasks.Task.InnerInvoke()    不明
    mscorlib.dll!System.Threading.Tasks.Task.Execute()    不明
    mscorlib.dll!System.Threading.Tasks.Task.ExecutionContextCallback(object obj)    不明
    mscorlib.dll!System.Threading.ExecutionContext.RunInternal(System.Threading.ExecutionContext executionContext, System.Threading.ContextCallback callback, object state, bool preserveSyncCtx)    不明
    mscorlib.dll!System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(System.Threading.ExecutionContext executionContext, System.Threading.ContextCallback callback, object state, bool preserveSyncCtx)    不明
    mscorlib.dll!System.Threading.Tasks.Task.ExecuteWithThreadLocal(ref System.Threading.Tasks.Task currentTaskSlot)    不明
    mscorlib.dll!System.Threading.Tasks.Task.ExecuteEntry(bool bPreventDoubleExecution)    不明
    mscorlib.dll!System.Threading.Tasks.Task.System.Threading.IThreadPoolWorkItem.ExecuteWorkItem()    不明
    mscorlib.dll!System.Threading.ThreadPoolWorkQueue.Dispatch()    不明
    mscorlib.dll!System.Threading._ThreadPoolWaitCallback.PerformWaitCallback()    不明


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
exception data-----------------------------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-        $exception    {System.ArgumentException: 無効な JSON プリミティブです: 。
場所 System.Web.Script.Serialization.JavaScriptObjectDeserializer.DeserializePrimitiveObject()}    System.Exception {System.ArgumentException}
+        [System.ArgumentException]    {System.ArgumentException: 無効な JSON プリミティブです: 。
場所 System.Web.Script.Serialization.JavaScriptObjectDeserializer.DeserializePrimitiveObject()}    System.ArgumentException
        _className    "System.ArgumentException"    string
        _data    null    System.Collections.IDictionary
        _dynamicMethods    null    object
        _exceptionMethod    null    System.Reflection.MethodBase
        _exceptionMethodString    null    string
        _helpURL    null    string
        _HResult    -2147024809    int
+        _innerException    null    System.Exception
+        _ipForWatsonBuckets    280975030    System.UIntPtr
        _message    "無効な JSON プリミティブです: 。"    string
        _remoteStackIndex    0    int
        _remoteStackTraceString    null    string
+        _safeSerializationManager    {System.Runtime.Serialization.SafeSerializationManager}    System.Runtime.Serialization.SafeSerializationManager
        _source    null    string
+        _stackTrace    {sbyte[24]}    object {sbyte[]}
        _stackTraceString    null    string
        _watsonBuckets    null    object
        _xcode    -532462766    int
+        _xptrs    0    System.IntPtr
+        Data    {System.Collections.ListDictionaryInternal}    System.Collections.IDictionary {System.Collections.ListDictionaryInternal}
        HelpLink    null    string
        HResult    -2147024809    int
+        InnerException    null    System.Exception
+        IPForWatsonBuckets    280975030    System.UIntPtr
        IsTransient    false    bool
        Message    "無効な JSON プリミティブです: 。"    string
        RemoteStackTrace    null    string
        Source    "System.Web.Extensions"    string
        StackTrace    " 場所 System.Web.Script.Serialization.JavaScriptObjectDeserializer.DeserializePrimitiveObject()"    string
+        TargetSite    {System.Object DeserializePrimitiveObject()}    System.Reflection.MethodBase {System.Reflection.RuntimeMethodInfo}
        WatsonBuckets    null    object
+        静的メンバー        

Posted by zeyansoft on 7/15/2013 at 11:07 PM
Hi Ilya,

Following your tips i tried installing VS 2013 Ultimate Preview side-by-side with VSE 2012 and VSE 2013 but there was a compatibility issue blocking me from doing it. VS 2013 Ultimate installer states "missing packages for Visual C++ 2012 etc."

Glad to attach the installer error logs here.

I would be better off by RESETting my system and starting fresh.

Regards,

Zeyan Zhang
Posted by zeyansoft on 7/15/2013 at 3:52 PM
Hi Ilya,

Shall we initiate a live debugging session (i.e. RDP into my desktop)?

How about communicating the process through email/I.M.?

Thanks!

Zeyan Zhang
Posted by Mario Liebisch on 7/15/2013 at 1:43 PM
At least in my case Windows (8) is using German UI with the German (Germany) locale. Desktop Express 2013 is running with the default English install. Might try installing the German UI pack later.
Posted by The incredible Marxx on 7/15/2013 at 11:48 AM
I can't get past the "We need a few more Details" - Dialog. Clicking "Continue" just doesn't do anything. No error, no timeout!
Posted by Microsoft on 7/15/2013 at 11:19 AM
Hi,

What is your OS language, OS locale (if it is different from default OS language), and VS Express language, is there a language pack?

Also it will greatly help us if you can attach a debugger and break on any managed exceptions that happen after Express has started and displayed the Account Settings dialog, and after you close the dialog.

Do you have VS Ultimate installed side-by-side with Express? If you have, you can use it to debug Express like this:
1.    Start Express – it’ll display the Account Settings dialog saying you need to refresh the license
2.    Start VS Ultimate
3.    In VS Ultimate attach to Express process: Tools -> Attach to Process -> select VWDExpress.exe for WebExpress and WDExpress.exe for Desktop Express and attach to managed 4.5 and native code
4.    Disable Just My Code in Debugger Options (Debug -> Options and Settings -> General -> uncheck "Just my code".) Set always break on managed exceptions: Debug -> Exceptions -> check “Thrown” check box for Common Language Runtime Exceptions
5.    Try to sign out and sign in again in Express
6.    Close the Account Settings dialog

If there are any exceptions on steps 5 and 6, can you please get the call stack from the Call Stack window (Debug -> Windows -> Call Stack) and send it to me

Thank you,
Ilya Biryukov
Visual Studio team
Posted by Franck Poulain on 7/15/2013 at 6:42 AM
It seem that numerous users are experiencing the same issue:

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/wpapps/en-US/d923f808-d9f0-42a1-9b5d-8eefd165c943/unable-to-register-visual-studio-2013-express-preview

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/vstudio/en-US/0c80d419-fc64-48ff-954f-46ae1e94542d/cannot-renew-license-for-vs-2013-express-preview
Posted by IIJIMAS on 7/15/2013 at 5:43 AM
Similarly, in my environment, this problem occurs.
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Preview Japanese 64 bit
Visual Studio Express 2013 Preview for Windows Japanese
Visual Studio Express 2013 Preview for Windows Desktop Japanese
Visual Studio Express 2013 Preview for Web Japanese
I tried to sign in many times, but it was not possible to extend the license.
Posted by Mario Liebisch on 7/15/2013 at 3:45 AM
Locked out now as well. Still can't get it to update the right half of the window. Although I've noticed logging off on visualstudio.com seems to always fail to log me off "tfs.visualstudio.com". I'm not sure whether this issue is related to that.
Posted by Franck Poulain on 7/12/2013 at 2:02 PM
The lisence is now expired and i cant run visual studio anymore even if i am logged in as asked...

This is bad ! I need to recompile all of my libraries to go back to visual studio 2012.
Posted by Mario Liebisch on 7/12/2013 at 3:31 AM
Having the exact same issue on Windows 8 x64 with HyperV disabled running on a BIOS system (already in mail exchange with devs). I'm running the same version of the 2013 Express Preview for Windows Desktop. OS language/locale is de-de; using the English installation of the VS Preview. VS 2012 Express has been installed before, but uninstalled it before installing the preview.

I could extend my license the day I installed it (29th June), over last weekend it showed warnings "we can't get to your account". These warnings are gone now, but I'm still unable to extend the license, as the option isn't shown (just the yellow box telling me to login (which I did).
Posted by zeyansoft on 7/10/2013 at 3:59 PM
Hi Malcolm,

I've updated required info.

Regards,

Zeyan Zhang
Posted by Franck Poulain on 7/10/2013 at 11:42 AM
For me i have the express version of the product under windows 7 64 bits.

For your information i have created a new microsoft live account to register in visual studio 2013 so my account is brand new. You can also see an image attached to this bug report: https://connect.microsoft.com/VisualStudio/feedback/details/792761/cant-register-visual-studio-2013-preview-express-edition
Posted by Microsoft on 7/10/2013 at 10:06 AM
Greetings,

Thank you for submitting a Connect bug. Can you please provide additional configuration information as we are unable to repro the description with the latest Developer Preview build. Which version of the product, language, etc.

Thank you,

Malcolm Dickson
Visual Studio Program Manager II
Posted by shanec112 on 7/7/2013 at 2:09 AM
Same problem on installs on Windows 7 and Windows 8.
The "identity card" indicates I am signed in and am connected to Team Explorer Online Services.
Posted by Franck Poulain on 7/6/2013 at 4:42 AM
Same issue here !
Posted by Microsoft on 7/4/2013 at 12:50 AM
Thank you for your feedback, we are currently reviewing the issue you have submitted. If this issue is urgent, please contact support directly(http://support.microsoft.com)
Sign in to post a workaround.
Posted by mhoffmann on 7/17/2013 at 1:11 AM
Here the email I got with the workaround, which worked for me:

----------------

Hello. I’m responding from Microsoft to feedback you sent about Visual Studio:
Date: 2013-07-13T16:43:51
Feedback:
How the hell can I register my VS Express 2013 Preview for Windows ?
Have you tried signing in to Visual Studio Express for Windows? If so and you are getting an error, could you try setting your time zone to Pacific time (PDT) and try signing in again? That may work around the issue.
Thanks,
Michael Maio
Visual Studio Test Team

-----------------------

Setting system time to Pacific Time ( UTC - 8:00 ) lets VS Express 2013 show up licensed to my ID, expiring in 182 days ( which is Jan 15, 2014 ) and with VS Express working.

But when setting back system time to Central European, it's gone again. So it's really just a workaround to continue to work on your projects
File Name Submitted By Submitted On File Size  
svc.txt (restricted) 7/10/2013 -
dd_vs_ultimate_20130716135305.log (restricted) 7/15/2013 -