Desktop gadgets not displaying correctly in IE 11.0.9431.0 Preview - by pizi

Status : 

  Won't Fix<br /><br />
		Due to several factors the product team decided to focus its efforts on other items.<br /><br />
		A more detailed explanation for the resolution of this particular item may have been provided in the comments section.


ID 795392 Comments
Status Closed Workarounds
Type Bug Repros 3
Opened 7/30/2013 10:46:49 AM
Access Restriction Public

Description

Prior to installing IE 11.0.9431.0 Preview on Windows 7, desktop gadgets worked fine. Now, they do not display even though the gadgets show as running using the "View Gadgets" tool.
Sign in to post a comment.
Posted by Microsoft on 4/4/2016 at 9:02 AM
We've moved! Search for this issue at http://issues.microsoftedge.com. If you don't find it and still believe this is an issue, please file a new issue on our new platform issues tracker.
Posted by Microsoft on 6/5/2014 at 4:14 PM
Thanks for everyone's feedback. We're re-activating this bug to investigate further.

In the meantime, I'd like to update everyone on our recent findings. The issue doesn't reproduce on most machines. Even on a machine that did reproduce, once you've opened "add gadgets" from Control Panel or from right clicking on the desktop, the gadgets would re-appear and work as expected. This could possibly be some cache issue related to the installation process.

Jay Hong
Internet Explorer
Posted by Microsoft on 6/5/2014 at 4:14 PM
Thanks for everyone's feedback. We're re-activating this bug to investigate further.

In the meantime, I'd like to update everyone on our recent findings. The issue doesn't reproduce on most machines. Even on a machine that did reproduce, once you've opened "add gadgets" from Control Panel or from right clicking on the desktop, the gadgets would re-appear and work as expected. This could possibly be some cache issue related to the installation process.

Jay Hong
Internet Explorer
Posted by DrDivan55 on 11/15/2013 at 5:47 AM
Another thing I noticed is that the affected gadgets use similar font. So I think the problem is that IE11 makes that font display incorrectly when a higher DPI setting is used and maybe that causes the problem with Outlook, some Internet sites, etc.
Posted by DrDivan55 on 11/13/2013 at 8:46 AM
The bug is reproduced when the DPI value is set to 125% and above. A custom DPI value between 100%-110% will not cause a problem. For some reason installing IE11 causes a problem in displaying some of the default Microsoft gadgets like Clock, CPU, Currency, etc.
Posted by iFiredog on 9/24/2013 at 6:05 AM
Can't confirm this. After installing IE11 RP 11.0.9600.16384 on W7 SP1 Pro 64-bit, eight gadgets continue to work exactly as they did under IE9 and IE10.
Posted by Jetta48 on 8/12/2013 at 9:22 AM
I know that the gadgets are no longer available from Microsoft because of security concerns. However, the Windows gadget platform still worked unless users had opted to disable it. I liked my Kaspersky security gadget, for example.

Are you (MS) saying that to have IE11 on Windows 7 will force the Windows gadget platform to be disabled?

I can replicate installation of IE11 DP disabling the Windows gadget platform. It reappears when IE11 DP is uninstalled.

Thanks
Jetta48 (MS MVP)

Posted by pizi on 8/1/2013 at 1:01 PM
IE 11.0.9431.0 Preview broke what wasn't previously broken. That can hardly be called "By Design".
Posted by Microsoft on 8/1/2013 at 12:23 PM
Thank you for your feedback.

Gadgets are no longer available on our website because the Windows Sidebar platform in Windows 7 and Windows Vista has serious vulnerabilities <http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/security/advisory/2719662>. Microsoft has retired the feature in newer releases of Windows. Gadgets could be exploited to harm your computer, access your computer's files, show you objectionable content, or change their behavior at any time. An attacker could even use a gadget to take complete control of your PC. If you're concerned about the safety of gadgets you’ve downloaded, find out more about gadgets and steps you can take to protect your PC <http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=309853 >.


http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows/gadgets


Best Regards,
The Internet Explorer Beta Team