IE 11 fails to retain compatibility settings between sessions. When a website is added to compatibility view, the site is retained only for as long as the Internet Explorer 11 session is active. When the browser is closed and reopened the compatibility view list is empty and the site that was added during the previous session does not load properly. It can be re-added and again loads properly during the session.
When the user selects Options > Compatibility View Settings, the site loads into the "Add this website:" textbox. Clicking the "Add" button adds the site to the "Websites you've added to Compatibility View:" list. The site loads correctly as long as Internet Explorer 11 remains open. When Internet Explorer 11 is closed and subsequently reopened the site will no longer open properly, is not listed in the "Websites you've added to Compatibility View:" list and must be added again to the compatibility list to function properly during that session.