Change default "Prevent saving changes that require table re-creation" - by Michael Freidgeim

Status : 

  Won't Fix<br /><br />
		Due to several factors the product team decided to focus its efforts on other items.<br /><br />
		A more detailed explanation for the resolution of this particular item may have been provided in the comments section.


8
1
Sign in
to vote
ID 432179 Comments
Status Closed Workarounds
Type Suggestion Repros 3
Opened 4/13/2009 1:45:58 AM
Access Restriction Public

Description

In Sql 2008 Management Studio   table designer  try to make a change to a table structure that requires the table to be recreated, the management tools will not allow you to save the changes and show not obvious dialog message.
See http://www.west-wind.com/weblog/posts/455560.aspx.
It will be good to change the default or add an option to change setting directly in this dialog.
Sign in to post a comment.
Posted by Noli San Jose on 8/18/2015 at 4:44 AM
I agree with Paulo Stradioti's comment. This is the simplest to implement, with minimal effect on the system. I can't imagine why this cannot be done.
Posted by Paulo Stradioti on 4/15/2013 at 10:06 AM
Or, as an alternative, the dialog could, at least, inform you where to make that change. The Usability of SMS is awful..
Posted by Cooperation on 12/18/2012 at 8:15 AM
+1 for a better explanation than a stock response of 'not right now'
Posted by TheDon Sansone on 6/7/2012 at 1:56 PM
See thread: https://connect.microsoft.com/SQLServer/feedback/details/352485/saving-changes-is-not-permitted

Go to Tools->Options menu. Under the Designers page, uncheck the option "Prevent saving changes that require table recreation".

This allowed me to change the table attributes inside SSMS
Posted by Microsoft on 5/12/2011 at 3:39 AM
Hi,

We took a look at this bug along with several others recently. Unfortunately, triaging it against other critical bugs, I do not think we would get to investigating this in the near future. However, we have taken note of this internally, and when we revisit this functionality in the future, we will try and get this resolved.

Thanks for writing in to Microsoft.

Regards,
Kamal
Posted by Jack Tripper on 6/25/2010 at 8:09 AM
Yes, having a "I don't care" checkbox (wording could be tweaked) would be nice. Or at least have a [Warning Icon] explaining that table change tracking (which i don't use) would lose history for the table (which i don't care about).
Posted by Michael Freidgeim on 5/7/2009 at 4:26 PM
It will be polite to explain why you Won't Fix?