Home Dashboard Directory Help
Search

Find Results "Preview" window does not always work with Reg Exp Find by Dave_Novak


Status: 

Closed
 as Fixed Help for as Fixed


4
0
Sign in
to vote
Type: Bug
ID: 736581
Opened: 4/12/2012 9:45:41 AM
Access Restriction: Public
Moderator Decision: Sent to Engineering Team for consideration
0
Workaround(s)
view
2
User(s) can reproduce this bug

Description

In the normal case, one can use Find In Files to search the Entire Solution and get results in either FIND RESULTS 1 or FIND RESULTS 2 output window. From there, one is supposed to be able to single click a line in the results output to pull up a quick (recyclable) preview window of the source. Double-click a line in the results output would open that file in a non-preview tab.

Though this usually works, both single and double-click in results window do not work for certain regular expressions. The find results are correct, just nothing happens when I either single or even double-click lines in the output. Non-working example shown below.
Details
Sign in to post a comment.
Posted by Microsoft on 4/25/2012 at 12:09 PM
I am pleased to inform you that we have fixed this issue in our latest internal build. Feel free to verify this fix in the next public release of Visual Studio.

Christopher Wilcox | SDET | Visual Studio Professional - Editor Team
Posted by Microsoft on 4/25/2012 at 12:05 PM
I am pleased to inform you that we have fixed this issue in our latest internal build. Feel free to verify this fix in the next public release of Visual studio.
Posted by Maciej Walanus on 4/18/2012 at 1:29 AM
It really is a pain to the butt. The feature is really important for fast refactoring. Keep up the good work.
Posted by Dave_Novak on 4/16/2012 at 12:30 PM
Excellent -- glad you had no issues reproducing it and are on top of it. Thanks for the update!
Posted by Microsoft on 4/16/2012 at 11:26 AM
Hello,

Thank you for reporting this issue. This is certainly a bug. We have reproduced this issue on our side and are currently investigating it.

We appreciate your help improving Visual Studio!
-Murali
Murali Krishna Hosabettu Kamalesha | Program Manager | Visual Studio Professional - Editor team
Posted by Dave_Novak on 4/15/2012 at 6:15 AM
Has anyone even tried to reproduce this problem? It's an easy problem to reproduce/demonstrate.
Posted by MS-Moderator10 [Feedback Moderator] on 4/12/2012 at 10:46 PM
Thanks for your feedback.

We are rerouting this issue to the appropriate group within the Visual Studio Product Team for triage and resolution. These specialized experts will follow-up with your issue.
Posted by MS-Moderator01 on 4/12/2012 at 10:49 AM
Thank you for your feedback, we are currently reviewing the issue you have submitted. If this issue is urgent, please contact support directly(http://support.microsoft.com)
Sign in to post a workaround.