VS 2012 Code Review Feature - Crash when viewing recently completed reviews. - by G Howlett - Dealogic

Status : 

  Not Reproducible<br /><br />
		The product team could not reproduce this item with the description and steps provided.<br /><br />
		A more detailed explanation for the resolution of this particular item may have been provided in the comments section.


6
0
Sign in
to vote
ID 750094 Comments
Status Closed Workarounds
Type Bug Repros 3
Opened 6/20/2012 5:52:14 AM
Access Restriction Public

Description

Created a code review.

User A Submitted a review - User B accept it - User B made a comment and closed with comments. - User A replied to those comments - User B then view recently finished reviews then VS 2012 RC crashes.

Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name:	CLR20r3
  Problem Signature 01:	devenv.exe
  Problem Signature 02:	11.0.50522.1
  Problem Signature 03:	4fbb0839
  Problem Signature 04:	Microsoft.TeamFoundation.CodeReview.Controls
  Problem Signature 05:	11.0.50522.1
  Problem Signature 06:	4fbafdac
  Problem Signature 07:	43
  Problem Signature 08:	0
  Problem Signature 09:	System.ArgumentNullException
  OS Version:	6.2.8400.2.0.0.400.8
  Locale ID:	2057
  Additional Information 1:	5861
  Additional Information 2:	5861822e1919d7c014bbb064c64908b2
  Additional Information 3:	3955
  Additional Information 4:	395596f8b99d4d186d01ebc48ecdffc0

Read our privacy statement online:
  http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=190175

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
  C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt


Sign in to post a comment.
Posted by Jaganmohan Penikalapati on 12/5/2012 at 5:03 AM
Download Visual Studio 2012 Update 1 from below location to get out of this problem.
http://www.microsoft.com/visualstudio/eng/downloads#d-visual-studio-2012-update
Posted by gana2k1 on 11/16/2012 at 3:17 PM
Not to hijack this thread, but I noticed that this issue is closed. I run into this problem pretty consistently.
Why was this issue closed? Do I need to open yet another bug with the same things? Call stack and the error is exactly the same as what maulwurfshuegel posted on Aug 27 2012.
Here is my scenario that I run into most of the time (a few times it does not happen).
1. I get a code review.
2. I review code and complete the review.
3. I may need to check what I did so I go to My Work, Recently Finished and double click on one of the recently finished items.
4. IDE shows the code review and the list of files.
5. Move mouse over one of the file - boom IDE crashes with a "Microsoft Visual Studio has stopped working..." message and if you debug, you get exactly the same call stack and HRESULT as what maulwurfshuegel on Aug 27 2012.

Please reopen this bug or if it will not be reopened, I will open a new one.
This is really annoying that IDE keeps crashing several times a day or hour everytime i need to re-review what I reviewed.
4.
Posted by maulwurfshuegel on 8/27/2012 at 5:26 AM
I also get this NullReferenceException in Visual Studio 2012 (final) running Windows 7.
Here is the callstack:

System.NullReferenceException was unhandled
HResult=-2147467261
Message=Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Source=Microsoft.TeamFoundation.CodeReview.Controls
StackTrace:
     at Microsoft.TeamFoundation.CodeReview.Controls.Extensions.IsEqualToInternalDiscussion(DiscussionThread this, DiscussionThread other)
     at Microsoft.TeamFoundation.CodeReview.Controls.NavigationControl.NavigationControlViewModel.ReplaceInternalEmptyDiscussionWithLocalStoreVersion(IEnumerable`1 discussions)
     at Microsoft.TeamFoundation.CodeReview.Controls.NavigationControl.NavigationControlViewModel.<CommentsModel_DiscussionsRefreshed>d__3c.MoveNext()
    --- End of stack trace from previous location where exception was thrown ---
     at System.Runtime.CompilerServices.AsyncMethodBuilderCore.<ThrowAsync>b__0(Object state)
     at System.Windows.Threading.ExceptionWrapper.InternalRealCall(Delegate callback, Object args, Int32 numArgs)
     at MS.Internal.Threading.ExceptionFilterHelper.TryCatchWhen(Object source, Delegate method, Object args, Int32 numArgs, Delegate catchHandler)
     at System.Windows.Threading.DispatcherOperation.InvokeImpl()
     at System.Windows.Threading.DispatcherOperation.InvokeInSecurityContext(Object state)
     at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.RunInternal(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
     at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
     at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state)
     at System.Windows.Threading.DispatcherOperation.Invoke()
     at System.Windows.Threading.Dispatcher.ProcessQueue()
     at System.Windows.Threading.Dispatcher.WndProcHook(IntPtr hwnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wParam, IntPtr lParam, Boolean& handled)
     at MS.Win32.HwndWrapper.WndProc(IntPtr hwnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wParam, IntPtr lParam, Boolean& handled)
     at MS.Win32.HwndSubclass.DispatcherCallbackOperation(Object o)
     at System.Windows.Threading.ExceptionWrapper.InternalRealCall(Delegate callback, Object args, Int32 numArgs)
     at MS.Internal.Threading.ExceptionFilterHelper.TryCatchWhen(Object source, Delegate method, Object args, Int32 numArgs, Delegate catchHandler)
     at System.Windows.Threading.Dispatcher.LegacyInvokeImpl(DispatcherPriority priority, TimeSpan timeout, Delegate method, Object args, Int32 numArgs)
     at MS.Win32.HwndSubclass.SubclassWndProc(IntPtr hwnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wParam, IntPtr lParam)
InnerException:
Posted by Macy [MSFT] on 6/28/2012 at 3:48 AM
Thanks for your feedback. We are rerouting this issue to the appropriate group within the Visual Studio Product Team for triage and resolution. These specialized experts will follow-up with your issue.
Posted by Macy [MSFT] on 6/27/2012 at 11:42 PM
Could you please collect dumps of 32-bit process.We should use 32-bit version of Debugger like Debug diag x86 to collect manual dumps for 32-bit process on 64-bit server. Using 64-bit Debugger or task manager will create a 64-bit dump. This will have dump of the syswow64 and it won't allow extensions like psscor, sos to read it properly in windbg and addresses are 64 bit addresses [even though process is 32-bit].

Windows Server 2008 and Windows 7 have a built-in 32-bit task manager under C:\Windows\SysWOW64\taskmgr.exe. We can use this and select "Create Dump File" for 32-bit process. To confirm we are using 32-bit task manager, check the process name of it. It should be taskmgr.exe *32.

Please upload a 32bit devenv's dump. Thanks for your time.
Posted by G Howlett - Dealogic on 6/26/2012 at 6:20 AM
I have now uploaded the .dmp file to the location you gave.

Regards
Posted by Macy [MSFT] on 6/26/2012 at 3:33 AM
Hello again. We wanted to give you a quick reminder that to efficiently investigate and reproduce your issue, we need you to submit the additional information we requested. If we haven't heard back from you with the requested information in the next 3 days, we will go ahead and close the issue.
Posted by Macy [MSFT] on 6/22/2012 at 3:02 AM
We didn't get your file, could you please use Microsoft Visual Studio 2012 Feedback Tool to upload the dump file?

Or please zip the file and use "FeedbackID-750094" as prefix of the file name. You can use the following workspace to upload the file:
https://sftus.one.microsoft.com/choosetransfer.aspx?key=563ee6fa-aa1a-408e-95df-97609ed6921f
Password: wVcmx-rx*Nx

Thanks,
Microsoft Visual Studio Connect Support Team
Posted by G Howlett - Dealogic on 6/21/2012 at 1:17 AM
Attached a dump file.

Gary
Posted by Macy [MSFT] on 6/21/2012 at 12:34 AM
Thanks for your feedback. In order to efficiently investigate and reproduce this issue, we are requesting additional information outlined below.

Could you please give us a dump file and call stack so that we can conduct further research?

Visual Studio now has an extension called Microsoft Visual Studio 2012 Feedback Tool, available on the VS gallery(http://visualstudiogallery.msdn.microsoft.com/f8a5aac8-0418-4f88-9d34-bdbe2c4cfe72).

The extension allows you to
1. upload files,
2. collect trace and dump files
3. collect steps while you're repro'ing the issue, as well as
4. SQM logs about VS extensions installed
5. System details (in DxDiag output)

Please submit this information to us within 4 business days. We look forward to hearing from you with this information.

Microsoft Visual Studio Connect Support Team
Posted by Macy [MSFT] on 6/20/2012 at 6:48 AM
Thank you for your feedback, we are currently reviewing the issue you have submitted. If this issue is urgent, please contact support directly(http://support.microsoft.com)