MSADDNDR.DLL 12.0.20617.1 installed by VS 2013 Preview breaks setups of VBA add-ins - by Carlos J. Quintero

Status : 

  Fixed<br /><br />
		This item has been fixed in the current or upcoming version of this product.<br /><br />
		A more detailed explanation for the resolution of this particular item may have been provided in the comments section.


3
0
Sign in
to vote
ID 793386 Comments
Status Closed Workarounds
Type Bug Repros 2
Opened 7/10/2013 8:13:16 AM
Access Restriction Public

Description


Add-ins for the VBA editor of Office created with VB6 use MSADDNDR.DLL to register the dll not only as ActiveX dll but also as add-in for VBA.

Since MSADDNDR.DLL is no longer shipped with Office 2013 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2792179), the setup of the add-in includes MSADDNDR.DLL (version 6.x.y.z) and installs it in the following folders:

Windows 32-bit:
%commonprogramfiles%\DESIGNER

Windows 64-bit:
%commonprogramfiles(x86)%\DESIGNER

So far, so good.

Now, VS 2013 Preview installs MSADDNDR.DLL 12.0.20617.1, so when the setup of the add-in is executed, it doesn't replace that version because it is newer than the old version 6.x.y.z. However, the setup fails when trying to register the add-in dll with regsvr32.exe or similar (error code 0x5).

I guess this is because (using Depends.exe):

MSADDNDR.DLL 12.0.20617.1 only provides two functions:

DllRegisterServer
DllUnregisterServer

while MSADDNDR.DLL 6.x.y.z provided also:

DllRegisterDesigner
DllUnregisterDesigner
DllGetClassObject
DllCanUnloadNow
Sign in to post a comment.
Posted by Deon [MSFT] on 4/29/2014 at 12:31 PM
Thank you for reporting this issue. This issue has been fixed in Visual Studio 2013. You can install a trial version of Visual Studio 2013 with the fix from: http://go.microsoft.com/?linkid=9832436
Posted by Microsoft on 7/25/2013 at 10:52 AM
Greetings Carlos J. Quintero,

Thank you for the Connect bug. An updated version number was causing the issue, and has been fixed. Answers to your questions below.

Malcolm Dickson
Visual Studio IDE Program Manager II

1)Why does VS 2013 Preview ships MSADDNDR.DLL when Office 2013 no longer ships it? We are investigating if this is still required for future (post VS 2013) releases.

2) Why does it ship a new version 12.0.20617.1 rather than shipping the old 6.x.y.z? The version update was created as a result of a different bug. The version issue is fixed as part of this bug.

3) Why does it break compatibility? The updated versioning caused the reported issue. This has been fixed.

4) If I "fix" my setup forcing the installation of 6.x.y.z, do I break VS 2013 somehow? You should not need to “fix” your setup with the fix this bug represents.
Posted by Brian Baker on 7/22/2013 at 5:22 PM
I discovered this because the VB6MouseWheel add-in (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/837910) and MZ-Tools (http://www.mztools.com/v3/mztools3.aspx) would no longer load in the VB6 IDE.
Posted by Macy [MSFT] on 7/10/2013 at 8:33 PM
Thanks for your feedback.

We are rerouting this issue to the appropriate group within the Visual Studio Product Team for triage and resolution. These specialized experts will follow-up with your issue.
Posted by Macy [MSFT] on 7/10/2013 at 8:51 AM
Thank you for your feedback, we are currently reviewing the issue you have submitted. If this issue is urgent, please contact support directly(http://support.microsoft.com)